Astro Photography

I, alongside many other New Zealanders, braved the ice cold morning and caught a glimpse of the Eta Aquarid Meteor shower which I stumbled upon via the trusty Facebook. Although hesitant at first, I mean, would it really be that cool and was getting up before 3 am worth it? Yes, yes and a hundred times yes!

I wouldn’t call myself much of a photographer, and astrophotography was something completely new to me so was pretty chuffed with both the meteor shower but getting a few semi-decent photos to go along with it! The one I grammed even got re-grammed by Newshub so that was a pretty awesome moment, and I had multiple people asking if I actually took the photo! So they were some pretty good moments! Can’t wait to get back into it. Note: you can see it here

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 9.01.50 pm.png

My favourite one, the one with the star trails was taken on the ‘bulb’ function and me holding my hand on the shutter for 5 minutes! My wee finger was ready to freeze off but it was worth it! I’ve wanted to get one of these shots since Christmas when I was browsing far too many stunning photographs on Instagram but never got around to following through – I guess you could say life got in the way. Yes, they’re all a little outta focus particularly the last two, but though I would share regardless. And hey – I’m new to this and I’m learning! P.S any pointers would be AMAZING & I would love a photography buddy…!

Lucky for me, there is another meteor shower in August which I may just have to check out and brush up on the good old photography skills by then.

Enjoy xx

IMG_2624FullSizeRender 26FullSizeRender 24

Leave a Reply

