Chickpea Feta Salad

This weekend’s been a big one and up until about half an hour ago, it’s been pretty much all go. Although when I say busy I don’t mean in an I just ran a marathon or I’ve been at the gym all weekend. No, it’s been a social weekend. One filled with the company of amazing people and indulging myself in cheese, chocolate and pancakes! Needless to say, it’s been a fab weekend.

It started at the crack of dawn on Saturday morning, or well before really, to catch glimpse of the Aquaria Meteor Shower, followed by my first outdoor boot camp, preparation for a NZBCF Pink Ribbon Breakfast for Sunday morning, a 2nd birthday party for family, a catch-up (or two) with some friends, making a batch of the delicious peanut butter hearts. Regardless to say, by 2PM on Sunday I was absolutely exhausted and had a massive sugar headache!

I realised that in the past 24 hours, I had eaten my weight in cheese, chocolate and pancakes and it was starting to take its toll. A headache was real, I was dehydrated and I had learnt that my body needed real food and exercise. I headed out on an hour long walk around Cox’s Bay and Westmere for a mate before coming home to cook up this delicious salad.

It’s been one playing on my mind for a while. I saw it on Sinoma’s beautiful blog a few weeks ago and it looked absolutely stunning. You can find the original recipe here – I’ve tweaked it slightly, adding a few things here and there depending what I had on hand! Packed with chickpeas, a veggie I don’t normally find myself eating much of other than in hummus (yum!). Turns out while they’re high in calories (but who counts them these days anyway…) they’re super good for you; packed with protein, high in iron and folate-rich. Yum.

This salad, being high in fibre and protein packed chocka full of real food and full on flavour hit the spot post an indulgent weekend.

Enjoy xx

DSC_0016

Chickpea Feta Salad – Serves 2


Crispy Chickpeas
1 can of chickpeas,  rinsed and drained
2 T olive oil
1 t ground coriander
1 t ground cumin
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Salt and pepper

Salad
1 chicken breast (seasoned with cumin, garlic and olive oil)
1/2 cup cucumber, roughly chopped
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1/4 – 1/2 cup crumbled feta
1/2 red onion, diced
Squeeze of lemon juice
Salt and pepper

1. Coat the chickpeas in the seasoning and spread on a lined oven tray and bake at 180 degrees until the chickpeas become as crispy as you like.

2. Pan-fry chicken over a medium heat until cooked. Chop into slices and set aside.

3. In a large mixing bowl, combine chopped cucumbers, tomatoes, parsley, and mint. Drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice, and toss to combine. Add crumbled feta and gently stir. Finish with flaky sea salt and pepper to taste. Top with crispy chickpeas and sliced chicken.

Leave a Reply

